Donor Recognition Societies

Donor Recognition

Honoring Outstanding Generosity

Throughout its history, the University of Miami has been the grateful recipient of magnificent generosity from friends of higher education, a tradition that has continued to deepen over the decades.

In 1966 the Board of Trustees established the Society of University Founders to honor those individuals, families, corporations, foundations, and organizations that had contributed $50,000 or more to the University.

In 1983 the Grand Founder designation was added in recognition of the growing number of contributions of more than $100,000. Two years later the Board of Trustees inaugurated three additional donor societies.

The launch of Momentum: The Campaign for the University of Miami ushered in the creation of three new donor societies to recognize those visionary benefactors who have transformed the University through their magnificent generosity.

In addition to the giving societies listed below, the University's Heritage Society recognizes planned gifts.

  • The Ibis Society for contributions over $250,000
  • The Bowman Foster Ashe Society for contributions over $500,000
  • The George E. Merrick Society for gifts in excess of $1 million
  • The Gables Society for gifts totaling more than $5 million
  • The Miami Society for contributions over $10 million
  • The Millennium Society for gifts in excess of $50 million
  • The Anastasia Society for contributions of more than $100 million